[Tag Tuesday] Book Blogger Insider Tag

Good morning, y’all! For this Tag Tuesday, I bring you something I was actually tagged in! Wowie! My new friend Kate from The Nerdy Novelty tagged me in this last week and I’m so thrilled to bring it to y’all now. This is actually a new tag to me, so I’m glad that Jamie @ A Little Slice of Jamie created it for us bloggers to spread around.

R U L E S

  • Answer the questions
  • Credit the creator
  • Tag 5 people
  • Have fun!

Where do you typically write your blog posts?

Lately, I’ve been focusing most of my work at the kitchen table, since the kitchen is really the hub of activity in the apartment — also, it’s the closest to the fridge so I can continually make drinks.

How long does it take you to write a book review?

It really depends on the book and my feelings on it. When I really sit down to get cracking, it can take me about an hour and a half to two hours to write the review. It can usually be another half an hour to set up the formatting of the post, proofread, etc. However, there are sometimes when I sit at my computer and cannot bring forth the words to create the review — I’m in this predicament now! — so it can take days or even weeks to get that done.

When did you start your blog?

My very first post was on August 11, 2015! Since it’s now October 11th, 2016, I can confidently say that I’ve been blogging on Only True Magic for a year and two months.

What’s the worst thing about book blogging?

Ooh, wow. For me, it’s the constant worry that my voice isn’t being heard enough. I put a lot of time and effort into making sure this blog is of top quality with great content, but I’m never quite sure if I’m doing enough. Am I not tweeting enough? Am I not engaging with fellow bloggers enough? Am I not bookstagramming enough?

 

What’s the best thing about book blogging?

Conversely, I love all of the opportunities that blogging affords me. I’ve recently been partnered with Social Book Co as an affiliate. I’ve reviewed books that have actually made it to major publication like Come Back to Me. I’ve met and started developing relationships with other bloggers to continue building the ever-changing blogging landscape. As much anxiety that I have about not feeling like enough, I know that the pros way outweight the cons.

What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

Last year, I participated in Writing 101 for WordPress (which I never completed; I should try it again). One of the prompts was to write out a scene using the world around you; this post was the result of that exercise. It was a lot of fun to be a spy in that Starbucks for a day.

When do you typically write?

I tend to write nights after I get home from work. It’s a really great time for me to be able to sit back and decompress from the day. I also tend to spend most of my weekends writing, too.

How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your pet?

Mostly with my sweatpants on, hair up in a high and messy bun, alcoholic beverage to my right for a quick sip, and some kind of Broadway and/or 80’s/90’s playlist in the background. Also, my feet are generally up on Sam’s lap while he plays Knights of the Old Republic.

When do you write your reviews? Right after finishing the book? Two weeks after?

It really depends on whether or not I’m truly inspired, as pretentious as that sounds. I try to do them as soon as possible after completing the book, but sometimes, that spark doesn’t hit until later down the road.

How often do you post?

I’m trying to maintain a schedule of posting at least 3-4 times per week, at least with the weekly features. Right now I have 5 Things on Sunday, Tag Tuesday and Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday; recently I’ve been trying out doing Book Traveling Thursdays, was well. As time passes and I get more settled into my current role at work, I would love to be posting 5-6 times a week consistently. Those extra posts could be either discussions or reviews, depending on how far along I’ve gotten with reading. (:


Consider Yourself Tagged:

I’m actually doing it this time! My five tagged blogs are:

As always, if you participate in the tag, please feel free to tag me in it so I can see your responses, too!

6 thoughts on “[Tag Tuesday] Book Blogger Insider Tag

  1. You shouldn’t have to worry so much about blogging “enough” unless you are doing it as a career. I do it as a hobby so I don’t set too many rules for myself. Once it becomes too serious, you will feel more pressure and you will have less fun. Thanks for tagging me. I have done this tag already. Here’s the link if you are interested to check it out: https://howusefulitis.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/book-blogger-insider-tag/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment