Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: October 12, 2016

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Seriously, stop the world, I want to get off. This week was crazy in terms of politics, personal life, professional life — I’m done. Is it too much to ask for a week where absolutely nothing happens and I can kick it? I already got that in July on vacation? But, for real, where has the time gone? We’re already pretty much halfway through October and with the presidential election and big work projects looming, I’m getting more and more nervous. However, these nerves are manifesting themselves into some well-deserved reading! As mentioned last week, I was able to finish  Order of the Phoenix finally, so I’m thrilled to be able to share my progress from this week!

17347380It’s no secret that it took me about a month to get through Order of the Phoenix, much to my chagrin. However, I’m pleased to say that it’s not the case when it comes to my read-through of Half-Blood Prince. I picked it up on Friday after taking a few days of a breather, then have been powering through it since. At present, I’m roughly halfway through the book, having just concluded Christmas holidays with the unexpected visit from Scrimgeour. (I still can’t pronounce his name. Scrim-jour? Scrim-jower? Anyone have any insight?) Truth be told, when I first read this book way back in the day, I found it to be irritating because it’s such a departure from the tone established by the prior novel. However, now that I’ve actually lived through my tumultuous teen years, I can say that the teen drama feeling that underscores the first half of the book is completely true-to-life when going through that age. I can’t wait to see how the second half holds up.

25320527After realizing that I’ve had this book now for over a year from NetGalley, I made the conscious decision to sit down and try to knock it out so I can keep whittling down my galleys. Granted, I’m not very far in it so far, but here’s a quick rundown: In Victorian Surrey, Senza Fyne is embarking on her first season as a debutante. She’s rich, she’s beautiful, she’s desired. However, after losing her grandmother, Senza is not sure that she wants to go through it all — only to lose her youth in the long run. As anti-feminist and regressive as it sounds, there’s something about Krafton’s writing that gives me hope about what happens in later chapters. I’m under the impression that this is going to be a twist on the standard vampire lore; I’m intrigued to see if this is going to be the case. Consider my fingers crossed — in my opera-length debutante gloves, of course.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: October 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

