Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: February 15th, 2017

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Howdy from Dallas, y’all! I’ve been here since Sunday afternoon for a work trip and it’s been an absolute dream so far. I achieved a good chunk of reading and writing over the weekend while traveling, but now that I’m in Dallas for the rest of the week, the reading has slowed. However, there’s going to be more downtime tonight and over the course of the next few nights after filming wraps each day, so I anticipate that there’s going to be even more progress! I’m hoping to finish two more books before I touch back down in DC on Saturday night.

30337432Now that I’ve finished Pro, this book has become my main project. If I finish Gilded Cage this week like I intend to, it’ll be the fastest I’ve turned in a review to NetGalley since I first started collecting galleys! Since I started reading the book, I’ve learned that my first impressions weren’t exactly hitting the mark. This is actually an alternate reality, so it’s interesting to see the characters talk about slightly-altered historical events. Each chapter comes from the point of view of an entirely different character: while this is an interesting, Game of Thrones-esque technique, I’m curious to see exactly how she’s going to roll it out as the book moves on. Will characters repeat or will we continue getting the different perspectives? And why is there a naked dude on a leash? How did we get to that point? I need to learn more about the history behind this society, honestly.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: February 15th, 2017

Leave a comment