Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: February 22nd, 2017

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Howdy from Washington, DC again! Last week was one hell of a doozy with the traveling here, there, and everywhere, but a metric ton of things were completed both in my business and blogging lives. However, I’m proud that I was able to accomplish a few major tasks here that I was hoping to get done while on my trip, including the review of Mind of the Phoenix. After this week, I’ve only got one more Galley to read and review, then another to review (hopefully to go live this week)! When Operation: Clear the Galley is completed, then Operation: Eyes on iBooks will commence! #letsdothis
26486384A YEAR AND A HALF LATER, everything’s all said and done with Crystal Cadets! This was my second read-through of the graphic novel and it was just as enjoyable as the first go-round! As corny as this sounds, I picked this back up because I desperately needed to get caught up again on my reading pace, as I was two books behind where I needed to be as of last week; this was such an easy read to breeze through while waiting for all of the passengers to board my plane from Dallas to Chicago last Saturday. As I mention in my review (which will be posted tomorrow), it’s a perfect iteration of the magical girl genre for the type of feminist, diverse generation that follows us. Read it for you, pass it to your sisters, pass it to your brothers — but just spread the message.

30258320Man, talk about your sleeper hit with this book. As of last week, it was pretty clear that I just was not feeling anything about Gilded Cage whatsoever. It took me two weeks just to get through the first thirty percent of the story, but once I started getting into it more throughout my travels, everything fell more into place. By the end of it all, I was engrossed in the uprising building in Great Britain against the Equals and the institution of the Slavedays. I don’t want to get too much into my thoughts and feelings on this book, since I have a review going up on Friday, but just definitely do know: it was a pleasant surprise. I just wish that it didn’t take peeling away layers for all of the plot’s action to get truly rolling.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

