Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: February 8th, 2017

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Reading has, unfortunately, been at a minimum the past few days because I’m so caught up in getting everything ready for my trip to Dallas next week! While I’ll be hella busy during the day all next week, I’m still going to have so much time during my flights and after work to sit back and relax with my digital TBR. Since I finished Mind of the Phoenix, though,  last week, I ended up starting my final Netgalley ARC and then received my own copy of ProReclaiming Abortion Rights in the mail. Oh, and I’ve been stepping up my Instagram game the past few weeks, so go check me out at @onlytruemagic!

20518909The original copy of Pro that I was reading from a few weeks ago was actually borrowed from the library and I stupidly put off reading it for months (literally, 2 months) before starting, not realizing that people might actually put a hold on it. Once I had to turn it in, I recognized that, yeah, this is something that I need in my personal library. In the chapter I just finished today, Pollitt expertly approaches different arguments against legal abortion and breaks them down individually to get to the root of each argument. (Hint: it essentially boils down to thoroughly-entrenched misogyny.) Thus far, her writing and exploration into what it really takes to start turning the tide in the battle of keeping abortion legal in the US is approachable, understandable without being condescending, which is always welcomed in what can be an isolating space.

30258320You know when you’re already overwhelmed with galleys from NetGalley and then you decide on a whim to get a book? Yeah, this book is the result of one of those whims. (But at least I’m finally catching up!) While I’m not too far into this book, I can admit that I’m excited about the premise. In a not-so-distant future, England has fallen under the rule of aristocrats gifted with extraordinary powers. The ordinary folks, however, are required to submit 10 years of their lives to slavery to the aristocrats before they are considered fully Equal. I’m a little lost so far within the plot and how it’s unfolding, but then again, I’ve only finished through the prologue and the first chapter. I’m sure as time goes on within the story, things will clear themselves up. We’ll see how it goes!

532939In a bit of a panic, I realized I was a few books behind on staying on track with my reading goal for 2017 — and so I pulled I Can’t Tell You from my shelves. This book is one that I’ve had in my personal library for about 10 years at this point, so it’s basically a relic of a different time in my reading career. After a blow out with his former best friend, college freshman Jacob Jacobsen (yup, his actual name) decides to undergo a vow of silence in order to avoid any further verbal ruin. This book follows a different storytelling structure than most: the entirety of the plot is told through notes passed between Jacob and his friends as he works through his feelings about friends, family, and what it truly means to embrace the silence.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

One thought on “Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: February 8th, 2017

Leave a Reply

