Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: January 18th, 2017

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

After taking a few months off to mourn the loss of American democracy lol, I really hit the ground running this month to get back into the groove of blogging again. This month so far, I’ve already finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, both by J.K. Rowling. Only two weeks into the year and I’m already on track to kill it. As such, I’ve got two more books in the works right now, both of which are moving quickly. Hopefully, the protesting I’m going to be doing this weekend won’t interfere with the reading schedule, haha.

20518909If this isn’t the right time of, well, life for me to be reading this, then I don’t know what is. Author Katha Pollitt is a former columnist on noted progressive newspaper, The Nation; no fake news bullshit here. In Pro: Reclaiming Abortion Rights, Pollitt dives straight into the past and present of the US abortion rights movement to provide context to the strident restrictions and attempted bans that have cropped up since the procedure was legalized in 1973. (Happy birthday, Roe, on January 22nd!) While very little of this book is actually new to me, as a vocal and active abortion rights activist, this book so far is great to get me re-energized for the fights we’ll be seeing ahead as long as we’re going to have a bunch of goddamn fascists in office. I might just get extra copies to give to muddled moderate friends to push them over the edge.

25257653 And, with starting this book, I’ve finally reached the light at the end of the tunnel with the Netgalley books I received all the way back in late 2015. I feel like a giant asshole for letting this sit and wait so long (like…it deleted itself from Bluefire long), but better late than never, I guess. However, maybe I subconsciously saved the worst for last because this is just not great so far. The concept is intriguing: set in a steampunk world, a young Empath has the chance to fight for her freedom by helping to solve a murder mystery. There are a lot of interesting ways in which this could possibly go down, but, thus far, I’m infinitely annoyed by both Jamie McLachlan’s writing style and the immediate Mary-Sue tendencies of her main character, Moira. Come on, heterochromia and being the most powerful Empath of her time? How cliche.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

