2016 Bookish Year in Review & 2017 Goals

I never said this blog was fully family-friendly. But then again, 2016 wasn’t necessarily the most friendly year — to anyone. I’m honestly just thankful that it’s in the past so I can start focusing on the future for myself and this blog. As such, here’s a short wrap-up of everything I accomplished and read in 2016, as well as some goals for this year!

The biggest reading challenge that I undertook was, as was for most people, the Goodreads Challenge. Initially, I thought it would be reasonable to expect that I’d be able to read 100 books over the course of the year, but as time passed, I had to take a step back to reevaluate my goals. I ended up reading 50 books in 2016! Even though this was a slight decrease from the previous year, it’s to be expected that it’d be lower given the few extended hiatuses, the move to DC, and the resurgence of my severe depression. I’m definitely pleased with the result.

Of course, here’s the list of the 50 books I read last year. If I wrote a review, I’ll link to it, as well:

  • EC Moore – Every Big & Little Wish
  • Rosemary Clement-Moore – Texas Gothic
  • Kimber Leigh Wheaton – Twisted Sisters
  • Various Authors – Story of a Kiss Anthology
  • Rose Devereux – Descended
  • Leigh Bardugo – Siege & Storm
  • M.R. Reed – Enthrall
  • Jacinta Maree – Soulless
  • Pat Edsen – A Hold on Me
  • Neil Gaiman – The Ocean at the End of the Lane
  • Jojo Moyes – Me Before You
  • Meg Cabot – Remembrance
  • Amy Ewing – The Jewel
  • Kiera Cass – Happily Ever After
  • Willow Summers – Yes, Please
  • Willow Summers – Now, Please
  • Leigh Bardugo – Ruin & Rising
  • Kiera Cass – The Crown
  • Kiera Cass – The Siren
  • Valerie Estelle Frankel – A Rey of Hope: The Unauthorized Guide to Feminism, Symbolism, and Hidden Gems in Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Anne Toole – Crystal Cadets
  • Kelley Armstrong – The Summoning
  • Valerie Estelle Frankel – We’re Home: Fandom, Fun, and Hidden Homages in Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Noelle Stevenson – Nimona
  • Erin Bow – The Scorpion Rules
  • Heidi McLaughlin & L.P. Dover – Dark Room
  • Roxane Gay – Bad Feminist
  • Lisa Roecker & Laura Roecker – This is W.A.R.
  • Becky Albertalli – Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
  • Anna Breslaw – Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here
  • Rainbow Rowell – Carry On
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  • Alexander L. Chapman – The Dialectical Behavior Therapy Skills Workbook for Anxiety
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Kieran Gillen & Jamie McKelvie – The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 2, Fandemonium
  • Jamie Blair & Dawn Rae Miller – Kiss Kill Love Him Still
  • Kellie McAllen – Soulmate
  • D.S. Murphy – Shearwater
  • Kieran Gillen & Jamie McKelvie – The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 3, Commercial Suicide
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • Sophia Amoruso – #GIRLBOSS
  • AJ Krafton – The Heartbeat Thief
  • J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • Jeff Lemire & Emi Lenox – Plutona
  • Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky – Sex Criminals Vol. 3, Three the Hard Way
  • Kieran Gillen & Jamie McKelvie – The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 4, Rising Action
  • Kevin Panetta & Paulina Ganucheau – Zodiac Starforce: By the Power of Astra
  • Kurtis J. Wiebe & Roc Upchurch – Rat Queens Vol. 1, Sass & Sorcery

Some of the books above were ARC/Netgalley books that I still need to review. One of my major goals for the next few weeks is to commit myself to writing the reviews on which I’ve been backed up. The procrastination has become a huge, huge problem and I need to just suck it up and write them!

Of the above, the ones I still need to review are:

  • AJ Krafton – The Heartbeat Thief (probably will happen this week!)
  • Anne Toole – Crystal Cadets (need to reread this again lmao)
  • M.R. Reed – Enthrall
  • Willow Summers – Yes, Please
  • Willow Summers – Now, Please
  • Valerie Estelle Frankel – A Rey of Hope: The Unauthorized Guide to Feminism, Symbolism, and Hidden Gems in Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Valerie Estelle Frankel – We’re Home: Fandom, Fun, and Hidden Homages in Star Wars: The Force Awakens

The ones that I need to read and review are:

  • Allison Williford – Waiting for You
  • C.J. Anaya – Marry Your Billionaire
  • Anna Santos – Soul-Mate
  • C.J. Anaya – The Healer
  • Lily Cahill – Sparked
  • Vic James – Gilded Cage
  • Jamie McLachlan – Mind of the Phoenix

Once I knock out these top priority books, I’m going to start working on the fifty-billion ebooks that I’ve accumulated over the past few months for free from iTunes. Also, I have several other physical books that I bought last year that I’ve neglected to even touch — including the Hamilton biography.

The biggest thing that I need to realize is that it’s definitely okay to step back if I’m feeling overwhelmed. It’s something that I’ve gradually come to accept over the past few months as something that’s okay — and even encouraged — to do to avoid burnout. The last thing I want to happen is to fall out of love with reading and writing, so taking breaks when necessary is the only healthy way to avoid that.

I’d like to thank you all for sticking through it all with me during this wild ride of a year. It’s that kind of support and community that makes this whole blogging thing worth it.

Here’s to extended success in 2017 — for everyone!

4 thoughts on “2016 Bookish Year in Review & 2017 Goals

Leave a Reply

