[Book Traveling Thursdays] 2spoopy Books

Another week has gone by and it’s once again time for Book Traveling Thursday!

New to Book Traveling Thursdays? No problem! This is a meme established by Danielle of Shelfies Above Selfies & Catia of The Girl Who Read Too Much. The rules are fairly simple:

  1. Pick a book that you think fits the weekly theme.
  2. Explain why your chosen book fits the theme.
  3. Look at covers from multiple editions and multiple countries for the book you chose.
  4. Finally, include pictures of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

C’est tout!


This Week’s Theme:

Halloween is here! Choose a spooky read that you have either read or want to read.

My Choice:

Phantom – Susan Kay

For many years, I’ve felt myself drawn to the seductive terror that lies within the original Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux. Of course, I grew up knowing about — and being obsessed with — the musical, then later read the book after seeing the Broadway show. However, during the explosion of my fandom in my late teen years, I learned of Susan Kay’s adaptation of the original story, Phantom, which was supposed to be even more terrifying, as it covered the personal history of the Phantom himself. This book has been in and out in print for ages, so it’s near impossible to find a copy in the local bookshops, but I’m sure I can shell out some cash on Amazon all for a good fright.

Original Cover:
194008

Original Random House Canada hardback.

Covers from the United States:

152900822570685

US Island Press, US Delacorte Press.

International Covers:

310991973278327253631

UK Cover, German Cover, Hungarian Cover.

66778536454634

Iranian Cover, Czech Cover.

My Favorite Cover:

3109919

UK Cover.

My Least Favorite Cover:

27253631

Hungarian Cover.


 What book did you choose for this theme? What cover is your favorite? Have you ever read this one? Let’s chat in the comments below!

8 thoughts on “[Book Traveling Thursdays] 2spoopy Books

  1. I’ve heard about this book and really wanted to read it for a while (huge Phantom fan), I ended u reading the original instead and forgot to find this one. The UK cover you picked as your fave is really nice but I also really like the US Island Press one, which I think might be my favourite.

    My Halloween BTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a hard book to come by, so I don’t blame you for bypassing it! At this point, I think you can only get it online? But yeah, the Island Press one is so nice and filled with early 90s cheesiness; it was my second choice! You have good tastes. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

