Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: October 19th, 2016

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

I’ve been reading at the speed of sound this week, much to my surprise! However, I’ve found a second wind of reading after finding motivation through joining up with SocialBookCo’s Book Review Program and receiving my first book. Additionally, with regard to carving out reading time, I recognized that it was up to me to be able to create time where it was possible, rather than just whining about not having “enough” time solely dedicated to reading. Not everything needs to be this big, grandiose reading event where I spend hours breezing through the pages. Even just taking five or ten minutes here and there — like when I’m waiting for my partner to get out of the shower — can make a world of difference. It’s the little things.

17347380Alright, I feel terrible because according to Goodreads, I haven’t touched this book all week! Ah, I’m so disappointed; I thought I had at least read some on Wednesday night after work! But no matter, this book is still blowing by faster than Order of the Phoenix did — that might be due in part to this book being about 300 pages shorter than the previous one. (And that Jo probably realized that maybe she was being overly verbose in that book.) At any rate, the students are just leaving their first lesson in Apparition feeling uneasy, especially after Susan Bones’ Splinching. Hermione is still salty as hell over Ron and Lavender being an item, mockingly calling him Won-Won any chance she can get. Of course, Harry is embroiled in his own brand of brooding worthy of being the Chosen One. Welcome to being a sixteen-year-old wizard, everyone!

25320527As I mentioned last week, this book is something I got off of Netgalley a long, long, long time ago, but never quite got around to reading. When I started it earlier this month, I didn’t have that high of hopes for it, considering that the cover’s kind of hokey and summary leaves something to be desired, what lies within is better than I expected. While this book isn’t quite my top priority to finish, I do whip it out more often than any of the physical books I’m currently reading due to the ease of pulling out my phone. Up to this point, Senza’s best friend died in a freak accident and Senza’s mother reacts by trying to get her daughter married off as soon as possible. However, the young lady is struggling with confronting her own mortality — until the dark, mysterious man she’s had her eye on offers her the key to eternal life, only for the cost of stealing a few heartbeats.

23281742A few weeks ago, I got approved to start receiving books through SocialBookCo to help with getting to read things I might not have chosen myself. Enter #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso. This is the first book I received from the program and while I had a vague interest in reading it, I hadn’t yet convinced myself to make the purchase before it was assigned to me. I received this last week and have rocked it through it so far, but that’s not something that I can really say as a positive. Amoruso’s quirky business manifesto reads more like a self-aggrandizing shrine of herself. This is not to say that I’m not proud of the progress she’s made with her company, because it truly is great, but the way she presents it is delivered in a very self-congratulatory way. I’m having mixed emotions so far.


So, whatcha readin’ this week? Any interesting updates or books you want to start soon? Let’s chat in the comments below!

One thought on “Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: October 19th, 2016

Leave a Reply

