[Book Traveling Thursdays] Smile!

It’s a sick day for me, so it’s as good a time as any to start a new feature series: Book Traveling Thursdays! Let’s keep our fingers crossed and hope that my fever-based delusions don’t make this post go off the rails. I think I’ve consumed enough DayQuil and seltzer water for this post to go well. I hope.

New to Book Traveling Thursdays? No problem! This is a meme established by Danielle of Shelfies Above Selfies & Catia of The Girl Who Read Too Much. The rules are fairly simple:

  1. Pick a book that you think fits the weekly theme.
  2. Explain why your chosen book fits the theme.
  3. Look at covers from multiple editions and multiple countries for the book you chose.
  4. Finally, include pictures of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover.

C’est tout!


This week’s theme:

Tomorrow is World Smile Day! Choose a book that made you smile recently.

My choice:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azakban – J.K. Rowling
With my project of rereading the entire series this year, I’ve really been looking forward to reintroducing myself to the magic lurking within these pages. What made me smile about PoA this go around is not only the strong feelings of nostalgia that come from reliving the first time I read these novels back in elementary school, but getting back into the feeling of things getting real for the Golden Trio once Sirius becomes a major player. The moment in which Harry and company realize that Sirius isn’t the crazed murderer everyone makes him out to be is actually quite heartwarming for me. I JUST REALLY LOVE THESE BOOKS.

Original Cover:
464164

UK Bloomsbury Edition

Covers from the United States:

US Scholastic Editions

My Favorite Covers:

UK New Bloomsbury Edition, US New Scholastic Edition, Pottermore Kindle Edition

Least Favorite Covers:

German Edition, Italian Edition, UK Adult Bloomsbury Edition


Which book made you smile lately? What’s your favorite cover of the book? Let me know in the comments below!

9 thoughts on “[Book Traveling Thursdays] Smile!

  1. I’m a sucker for original covers. Though I like the UK’s cover, I love the original US cover more. That might be nostalgia leaking through. My least favorite cover of the ones you’ve shown is the UK Adult Bloomsbury edition. I would not pick that up and think it is remotely what it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree about the UK Adult version of the cover. While the Pottermore version was similar by using the image of Azkaban itself, it was designed with just that little bit of magic that makes it so uniquely Harry Potter. While I understand why they wanted to make covers that “appealed” to adults, I think going so far to the “boring” side was ultimately their downfall.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

