Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: September 21st, 2016

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Shout out to my lazy ass for not putting out another post between last Wednesday and today. I will give myself some credit in that I had a rollercoaster of a week. I spent this week reading — and finishing — Shearwater and some major developments have happened with that book that I cannot wait to spread out unto the world. That’s definitely coming before the end of the week. At any rate, I spent this weekend back in Virginia Beach visiting friends and family. Saturday I spent with my best friend as we tried on bridesmaid dresses for her upcoming wedding and then later celebrated her birthday! Sunday, however, I spent with my partner and his family; his grandfather is dying and we absolutely needed to be there with them. It doesn’t lend itself to too much reading time, but the dust has cleared this week and things seem to be getting calmer on all fronts. I’m hoping to be able to sit down more with Order of the Phoenix this week and finish that up.

17347381So I’m terrible and didn’t get to touch Order of the Phoenix at all this week. Despite bringing it down to Virginia Beach with me to read on the off chance of downtime, I actually never had the opportunity to pick it up! I had a major revelation with Shearwater and found myself doing some investigating with that book and completely neglected the Wizarding World. The book is right next to me in my commuter bag and I can almost hear it crying out to be read, but it shall wait for at least a few more hours when I return from work. Within the story, I’ve just gotten to the point where the students are being introduced to the Thestrals for the first time; I’m definitely enjoying reliving the ominous feeling that permeates this part of the book. This whole project of mine is a great trip that almost feels like a return back home.

28628533So I finished Shearwater last week and things truly took a serious downturn by the end of the book. Not only did the main character not grow beyond the Mary Sue that I pegged her to be last week, but it seems that the author, Derek Murphy, has some serious ethical problems, as well. I was able to pin down at least one spot in the book in which Murphy fucking plagiarized from Wikipedia. WIKIPEDIA. One of the legends told in the story literally was pulled straight from the Wikipedia page about the Giant’s Causeway, only with a small amount of words changed to make it a little bit different. There’s a few other places in which I suspect plagiarism, so before I write my review/scathing exposure of his bullshit, I need to do a little bit of digging and screenshot-taking. I HAVE THE RECEIPTS.

So, dear reader, whatcha readin’? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: September 21st, 2016

Leave a Reply

