Whatcha Readin’ Wednesday: September 14th, 2016

It’s that time of the week again where we ask the lovely blog owner: WHATCHA READIN’? In this weekly segment, I give a brief glimpse into the books that are currently occupying my spare time, as well as a little recap of the past seven days, overall.

So, Amber, whatcha readin’?

Even though earlier this week, I was simply thinking about bringing this feature back into the blog, but I figured that it was the easiest way that I could both keep myself blogging about my progress in reading as well as just keeping me writing in general. It’s going to be interesting for me to kind of relearn where to put writing this feature in my schedule, since I used to not have to be into work until 10:30 in the morning. At any rate, I spent a fair amount of time this week reading, despite spending the majority of my weekend with my friend as he visited DC! There are two books I’ve been working on over the last week, as well as two that I finished in the middle of the week! WOW SUCH PROGRESS MUCH READING VERY LITERARY

17347381The major project is, of course, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I’ve been gradually reading through the series this summer since starting in the end of July and am a little over halfway through this book at the time of writing. This is the first time I’ve read through Harry Potter since the movies ended; it’s been such a joy rediscovering the magic that lay within these pages. I’ve been a little reticent to be blatantly reading these books on the metro since moving up here (because for some reason I’ve conditioned myself into thinking that Harry Potter is only for kids????? WHO AM I) but there are actually a surprising amount of people on my commute who have also been visiting Hogwarts. Despite these books being — of course — gargantuan, I’ve breezed through both Goblet of Fire and Order of the Phoenix quite handily, so I anticipate that I’ll have this finished by the end of next week.

28628533During my hiatus, I ended up reading The Siren by Kiera Cass in a bout of post-The Crown swooning, but that’s a story for another day. Judging by the first 30% of D.S. Murphy’s Shearwater, I can tell that these stories are going to be polar opposites despite both being about mermaids. Thus far, Shearwater has a more ominous feel, especially given the deaths of the main character’s parents literally on the first or second page of the novel. However, I am finding myself increasingly frustrated by some of the glaring grammar mistakes, as well as blatant creation of a Mary Sue in the form of Murphy’s main character, Clara. It’s still early enough in the novel that there’s a chance that her characterization is going to be further developed, along with those of the other characters around her. I love mermaid stories too much to give up on them this early in the game.

25910681Actually, I finished this book last week, but I’m including it anyway in this installment because it’s something that I finished within 7 days of this post. Sometime last fall, I actually participated in the blitz for this book through Xpresso Book Tours and ended up getting a copy through NetGalley. The cover was interesting, as was the premise, and the way that the authors marketed it through Xpresso was really great. However, I I felt extremely underwhelmed by Kiss Kill Love Him Still overall. There’s definitely a review forthcoming in the next few days, so definitely keep your eyes peeled for that. It’s absolutely going to be a trip. (And not an acid trip like the ones some of the characters in this book probably would have indulged in.)

25593570After Kiss Kill Love Him Still, I was in the mood for something cute and light-hearted as a bit of a palate cleanser. However, Soulmate by Kellie McAllen definitely wasn’t it. Truth be told, I didn’t even get past the second page of this book, because the first three paragraphs were so impossibly filled with misinformation about abortion that I was disgusted. Yes, you read right: a paranormal romance opened with a scientifically-inaccurate scene about abortion. As a pro-choice activist and person of sound mind, I knew that this was a book I couldn’t trudge through no matter how long it had been waiting in my iBooks. Truth be told, it was something I got for free once I signed up for the author’s mailing list. #byefelicia


So, whatcha readin’ this Wednesday? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

