Would You Rather Book Tag

Good morning everyone! As a way of easing back into weekly features, I’m considering doing a Tag Tuesday in which every Tuesday, I participate in another book tag! I may do Whatcha Readin’ Wednesdays again while I get back into the habit of something weekly again tracking my reading progress. At least these will be fun until I make a decision!

Just like last week’s Seven Deadly Sins tag, Sevairi at Sevairi Reads tagged me in the Would You Rather Book Tag while I was away on hiatus. Of course, now it’s my turn to do my part in answering the tag! Let the game begin!

1. Rather read only a series or stand-alone books?

I honestly feel like it depends on the plot. There are some stories that really deserve sequels, like Harry Potter or the Grisha trilogy, as the main point of their plots are something that really warrants progression over several books. Some series, like Kiss Kill Love Him Still, probably would have been better as a standalone instead of having two 150-page e-books.

2. Rather read a book whose main character is male or female?

I just really prefer female protagonists; my entire childhood was nothing but male protagonists, as they were what were taught in elementary and middle school curricula at the time, so I’m using my adulthood to focus on girls’ and womens’ stories.

3. Rather shop only at Barnes & Noble (or other actual bookstore) or Amazon?

I would much rather be able to shop only in physical bookstores — and, really, I do already! While, granted, some of the online bookstores can have some good deals, there’s nothing better than being able to sit down in the bookstore and get in the first few pages in order get a feel for the how the book’s going to go. You can’t really do that on online outlets.

4. Rather all books become movies or tv shows?

I’d much rather books become tv shows rather than movies.With movies, important plot points and characters are generally glossed over (hello, SPEW and Madame Maxime) and often takes away from the magic that made me fall in love with the series in the first place. However, with tv shows — given that they can be allowed the length of time that requires it — allow the flexibility of being able to go far more in depth to create an honest adaptation of the source material.

5. Rather read 5 pages per day or read 5 books per week?

As much as I would like to postulate and pretend that I’d really be okay with reading 5 books a week, I’d much rather prefer to read 5 pages per day. That at least ensures that I’d be fully absorbing the material I’m reading rather than just breezing on through and not really getting a feel for the book.

6. Rather be a professional book reviewer or an author?

Honestly, this answer could change depending on the point of my life during which I’m asked. At this point, I don’t think I could handle being an author because I’m just getting started in adulthood. I’ve got a full-time job, I’ve got a relationship to maintain, I’ve got a social life to keep up with. Later, once I’m more fully established, I could see myself becoming an author, but I’m currently more content with being a reviewer.

7. Rather only read the same 20 books over and over or get to read a new book every 6 months?

By “new” book, does this mean a different book entirely or new as in “recently released”? Because, if it’s the latter and I still get to read currently-existing books, I’m all for it. If it’s the former, then I absolutely have to go with reading the same 20 books over and over. Can it be Harry Potter and 12 other books?

8. Rather be a librarian or own a book store?

Considering that I’m still contemplating grad school for library science, especially now that I’m a few metro stops away from the school I would love to attend, I’d prefer to be a librarian. It combines not only my love of books, but my adoration of gathering information and creating programs/events that came from being a political community organizer. I also really distrust capitalism so *shrug emoji*

9. Rather only read your favorite genre or your favorite author?

Definitely going to go with my favorite genre, because books of varying quality and plot line exists within the paranormal romance variety. My favorite author now writes murder mystery novels under a pseudonym and rants about being a neoliberal on Twitter (JK why do you do this to me) and I don’t know if I would enjoy her new stuff.

10. Rather only read physical books or eBooks?

This is going to sound extremely stereotypical for bookish people, but I really do prefer to have a physical book rather than an eBook. I own many, many different eBooks and I like the ease of highlighting and notetaking with them, but it’s far easier to track my progress and fully immerse myself in the book’s world with a physical book. My eBooks are all on my phone, so I often find myself reading, then playing Candy Crush, then reading Buzzfeed, then answering texts, etc. Books don’t allow that type of distraction, and for that I am grateful.


Consider Yourself Tagged:

As usual, if you’ve already done this tag or you don’t feel like doing it, feel free to ignore it. Conversely, if you haven’t been tagged and want to participate, feel free! Tag me in your post so I can see your responses!

6 thoughts on “Would You Rather Book Tag

Leave a Reply

