5 Things on Sunday: Reading Tropes

Amazingly, another week has blazed on by, which means it’s time for this week’s installment of 5 Things on Sunday! Despite being a shorter week at work due to Labor Day on Monday, I feel like I’ve accomplished so much both within the workplace and out. Can my life stop moving in fast forward?

Created by Kendra at Reads and Treats, this series allows us bloggers to reflect on five bookish (or not) things that correspond with that week’s theme. This week is one of the more reading-themed topics — and the first time I’m going to be answering this prompt from a bookish perspective, haha.

This Week’s Theme:

5 Tropes That Make Me Pick Up A Book

  1. Queer Characters – While I recognized my queerness early on in life, it was really something that I struggled with until much later on. Things might have been a little bit easier if I had some characters I could relate to in the myriad books I read growing up. Now that queer characters — like Greta in The Scorpion Rules — are more and more prevalent, I feel like I must latch onto them and protect them at all costs.
  2. Paranormal Elements – Ever since I started reading novels as a young little nugget, I always gravitated more toward books with some inklings of the supernatural: Harry Potter, Ella Enchanted, etc. Since my home life wasn’t ideal, these were the easiest ways I could transport myself into a world outside the one in which I lived. Now, I’m still latching firmly onto books that take me out of life as we know it.
  3. Female Ass-Kicking Lead Character – This ties back into my earlier desire of needing characters I could relate to: these girls weren’t quite so plentiful in the late 90s/early 2000s for kid’s literature and YA. However, I’m absolutely loving the explosion of Alina Starkovs and Suze Simons in the genre lately. Who doesn’t love a well-rounded girl who can deliver an equally well-rounded roundhouse kick?
  4. Books Over 300+ Pages – It may not be a trope per se, but I’ve noticed that I tend to gravitate toward thicker books. There might be a little bit of elitism in my personal reasoning behind it (well I just finished xyz book in a week and it’s 734 pages!!), but at the same time, I really like feeling the weight of the book in my hands. The thicker, the more substantial-feeling, the better I focus on a book.
  5. Romance Done Well – Don’t get me wrong, I love a good romantic plot, but what I don’t love is when it’s been shoehorned in to the story to the point where it just feels extremely out of place. If there is to be romance, it has to be able to come up naturally or it actually has to be pertinent to the plot. Taking Twisted Sisters, for example, Kacie and Logan felt like they were only dating in name only. There was no real indication that they actually liked each other; to me, that is useless.

What are the five tropes that usually reel you into a book? What kind of things usually turn you off? Let’s chat in the comments!

Leave a Reply

