Seven Deadly Sins Tag

Happy Wednesday, y’all! As luck would have it, my laptop is completely bricked for good. We’ve had a long four years together, but it’s time to retire it. I’m actually writing this from my partner’s computer until my new Chromebook comes in from Amazon. The theme of the week is getting back into the groove of blogging and, thankfully, the wonderful Sevairi from Sevairi Reads has tagged me in Seven Deadly Sins! She’s everything you need in a book blog: sugar, spice, everything nice — and Canadian, if you’re into that. Check her out!

Now on with the tag!

Greed:

1. What is your most inexpensive book?

Since I’m all about some grassroots publishing, some of the books I have are diy zines, graphic novels, etc. that I obtained in swaps. If we’re going to talk about books with an ISBN number, I did get Brooklyn by Colm Toibin from a Little Free Library in Virginia Beach not too long ago. Can’t get any better than free!

23492483

Wrath:

2. What author do you have a love/hate relationship with?

If we’re looking more for a hate/hate relationship, then I’d definitely dive right into Cassandra Clare and her plagiarism, but that’s not the point of this question, haha. However, I will say that I find myself frustrated by Rainbow Rowell because she is such a great storyteller, but she is very problematic, especially in the way she portrays non-white characters. Girl, why do you have to be subtly racist?

15745753
Gluttony:

3. What book have you devoured over and over again with no shame?

Let’s go with the entire Harry Potter series. Is this a surprise? It absolutely shouldn’t be, especially considering I’m re-reading it right now. No matter how many times I read it, I end up noticing or learning something new about myself or the world around me. It’s just one of those series that truly will stand the test of time.

17347381
Sloth:

4. Which book have you neglected reading due to laziness?

Uh, I’m going to go with pretty much everything on my shelves right now, as well as everything in my Kindle and iBooks readers. I am a terrible, terrible person that’s single-mindedly focused on reading Harry Potter. Yesterday, though, I did end up finishing The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow, which I had previously put down for about six months due to sheer laziness. I’m glad I picked it back up again, too, because it ended up being a damn good read.

28589322

Pride:

5. What book do you most talk about in order to sound like an intellectual reader?

Pretty much any of the non-fiction books I’ve read recently, because they’re all extended pieces of investigative journalism, essentially. Sometimes, you just need a good textbook that analyzes how fucked up our entire society is on literally single level. Welp, there I go again on being prideful, hahaha.

Lust:

6. What attributes do you find attractive in a male or female character?

In female characters: In female characters, I really enjoy those who are not afraid to get their hands dirty, to admit they have flaws, who actually could be a real-fleshed out, nuanced human. If she could be replaced with a sexy lamp and still have no real change to the plot, then she’s not a character  I’m interested in.

In male characters: I’m going to steal from Sevairi here, because her answer was perfect: “Just… don’t be a huge dickhead, okay?” Kinda sad how low my standards are, but given how utterly awful most male characters are, it’s to be expected.

Envy

7. What book would you most like to receive as a gift?

THE HAMILITOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! No explanation necessary. I just need it. I don’t want to spend $40 on it.

26200563


 

Alrighty, because I’m lazy and because I want to hide from this thunderstorm about to roll through DC, this I how I’m tagging people:

  • IF YOU READ THIS, YOU ARE TAGGED.
  • If you don’t want to do this tag, then ok, cool. But if you do it, let me know because I want to see your responses!
Leave a Reply

