5 Things on Sunday: What I’ve Done

Another week, another 5 Things on Sunday! Now, granted, this is coming extremely late given that it’s past 9 pm here in Eastern Standard Time, but I’ve just been a little incapacitated today with a stomach bug. I completely forgot that it was Sunday! #chronicstomachissues

At any rate, the wonderful Kendra at Reads and Treats determined that this week’s theme should almost completely deviate from the bookish world. It certainly allows for a lot of introspection, so get ready for things to get personal here for a little while. I’m about to unload some deep thoughts, especially considering what I worked through on my own while I was on hiatus.

This Week’s Theme:

5 Things I’ve Done, but Thought I Couldn’t

  1. Pick Up Everything & Move State – As I’ve said multiple times since coming back, I’ve been in DC for exactly a month now, accomplishing a goal I’ve had since graduating college in 2013. It’s difficult to leave everything I’ve established over the past 13 years in Virginia Beach, but it was a move that was necessary to make for my own sanity. And now I get to see my partner everyday! After five years of long distance, it’s surreal!
  2. Forgiven Myself, Partially – While I was away, I spent a lot of time in therapy hashing out a lot of the pent-up issues that I’ve been dealing with alone. However, I realized that the self-loathing and hatred came from blaming myself for being raped by a former friend and for being abused by a prior partner. It’s taken many years, but these are things I no longer blame myself for. Are there some things I still need to work on? Sure, but it’s a step in the right direction.
  3. Traveled Through Europe – My family was very underprivileged until I was about 14 years old, so being able to visit abroad was always a lofty goal. I can now say that I’ve been to Germany, Spain, and France to start to enjoy what other countries have to offer. Y’all, I was in Paris on Bastille Day and I cannot wait to go back. Sam and I are already in preliminary talks about where we want to go abroad together for our first big trip as a couple.
  4. Use My Degree – When you’ve spent $80,000 on a fancy piece of paper that says you’re an expert on something then, yeah, you want to be able to professionally use that expertise. It’s taken three and a half long goddamn years, but I’ve finally achieved that goal with my new job. Suck it, parent who thought I was wasting my time. Who’s a failure now?
  5. Be Present for History – Okay, so it really depends on one’s definition of “history,” but I’m actually an extremely vocal abortion rights activist offline and this summer saw some pretty significant things happening within that sphere. I got to watch the Virginia House of Delegates pass a bill that intended to defund Planned Parenthood. A few weeks later, I was mere feet away as Terry McAuliffe, governor of Virginia, vetoed said bill. I was on the steps of the Supreme Court when Texas H.B. 2 was officially declared unconstitutional. It was exhilarating.

What are the five things you’ve done, but didn’t think you could do? What “impossible” goals do you have planned to accomplish in the future?

One thought on “5 Things on Sunday: What I’ve Done

  1. These were really good answers. I’m happy to see you’ve accomplished things you didn’t think you could! I’m jealous you’ve traveled through Europe!!! It’s on my list; I’ve wanted to go there for ages. Maybe someday! Haha.

    Forgiving yourself is never easy. When you completely figure it out, let me know! I’m a work in progress. I was in a situation similar to yours, except mine was a father figure in my life. I did blame myself for the longest time. At least we were able to pick ourselves up and carry on. The forgiveness will come. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

