August Wrap-Up & September TBR

It’s a little strange to sit back and reflect on my past month in reading, especially considering how out of practice I am when it comes to writing. However, having the courage to pull through the deep depression I was in and recognize that I can come back strong is certainly something to celebrate. Of course, with just coming back, I haven’t completed any reviews for the books I read during my hiatus, but tackling that mountain of writing is something I’m going to be working on over the rest of the month. As daunting of a task as that seems in the beginning, as I get back into the swing of writing and reviewing regularly, it’s going to roll of just as easily as the height of my blogging last year.

Additionally, I’ve decided that I’m going to hold off on accepting any more ARCs for review, given that my overall TBR is at an unsustainable level. Once that’s been parsed down to a less-terrifying point, I may, once again, start reaching out to others to read and review.The more I lump onto myself to do, the more blogging is going to feel like a chore again, and I absolutely cannot let that happen. Reading can never be a chore.

Without further ado, here’s essentially all that I read during my hiatus! Surprise!

Read In February:

  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane: Neil Gaiman

Read In March:

  • Me Before You: Jojo Moyes
  • Remembrance: Meg Cabot

Read In April:

  • The Jewel: Amy Ewing
  • Happily Ever After: Kiera Cass

Read In May:

  • Yes, Please: Willow Summers
  • Now, Please: Willow Summers
  • Ruin and Rising: Leigh Bardugo
  • The Crown: Kiera Cass
  • The Siren: Kiera Cass
  • A Rey of Hope: Feminism, Symbolism and Hidden Gems in Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Valerie Estelle Frankel
  • Crystal Cadets: Anne Toole
  • The Summoning: Kelley Armstrong
  • We’re Home: Fandom, Fun, and Hidden Homages in Star Wars: The Force Awakens: Valerie Estelle Frankel
  • Nimona: Noelle Stevenson
  • Dark Room: LP Dover

Read In June:

  • Bad Feminist: Roxane Gay
  • This is W.A.R.: Lisa Roecker
  • Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: Becky Albertalli
  • Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here: Anna Breslaw

Read In July:

  • Carry On: Rainbow Rowell
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone: J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: J.K. Rowling

Read In August:

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban: J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire: J.K. Rowling

Currently Reading:

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: J.K. Rowling
  • The Scorpion Rules: Erin Bow

To Be Read:

  • Kiss, Kill, Love Him Still: Jamie Blair & Dawn Rae Miller
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince: J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: J.K. Rowling
  • whatever else I can achieve!

What have y’all been reading in August? What do you have planned for September? How do you get over a reading slump? Let’s chat in the comments below!

5 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up & September TBR

  1. Hi Amber! Welcome back! You made so much progress in your Bout of Books but, I’m glad that life has settled down enough for you to return. c: I returned at the start of August too, and it’s been nice being back!

    In August, I read a couple of books (my favourite was Six of Crows), and I have tons of stuff planned for September (though them being ready to post is another story, haha). I’m reading Bad Feminist at the moment! Did you like it? I’m halfway and it’s been quite thought-provoking – and funny too!

    I’m currently in a bit of a reading slump, but it’s my fault. I’m reading 4 books at once, but I also feel like I’m not reading anything too? It’s weird! I’ll probably get over it when I finish them all – I’ve been stuck on them forever.

    Again, welcome back, and I hope September will be wonderful for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the warm welcome back, CW! I’m glad that you’re doing so well after your hiatus, too. Seems like it’s been the right time of year for everyone to take some time off.
      Six of Crows is actually one of the books I intend on reading soon after finishing my Harry Potter read-through. I totally feel you on not having much prepared to post! I almost feel like I’m going to have to re-read most things so I can properly review them, but that’s a waste of time, haha.
      Bad Feminist was AWESOME; it’s definitely one of those books that truly make the reader vacillate between blinding anger at society and overwhelming joy that someone else shares the sentiments. I really need to read more of Roxane Gay’s works because she’s so talented.
      Reading slumps are the absolute worst, I totally feel you. But sometimes you gotta find the one book that’s inspiring you to actually read and finish it, then power through. I’m going through something similar, haha.
      It’s glad to see a familiar face again! I wish you the best for your September as well!

      Like

  2. Hey girl, it’s so, so wonderful to see you back! It looks like you certainly kept up with your reading while you were gone, though! I mean, look at how May went for you! I’m a little jealous! I’ve been reading review copies lately and have a few more to go. But, if you’re still up for a buddy read for ToG let me know!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s great to be back! There’s a lot of catching up to do with everyone’s blogs, new releases, etc. Playing catch-up is half the fun, haha. I’ll have to take a spin through your blog and see what you’ve been up to!
      And of course, I’m still up for a buddy read! Wanna check back in two weeks? I’m busy for the next two weekends.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

