Liebster Award

Looks like the third time’s the charm! Not long after completing my post for the One Lovely Blog award, I was pleased to get a notification indicating that I’d be nominated for the Liebster Award by Meriem over at Fanatic Bibliophile. I’ve only just followed her blog today and after taking some time to go through it, I can already tell that she has such a good blog going on over there. Check her out if you haven’t already!

Without further ado, here’s how this award works:

The Rules:

  1. Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated me and include the Liebster Award sticker in the post.
  2. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers and notify them of this in one of their posts.
  3. All nominated bloggers are to have less than 200 followers.
  4. Answer the 11 questions posed by your nominator and create 11 different questions for your nominees to answer.  Or, you can repeat the same questions.
  5. Copy these rules into your post.

Questions for Me:

  1. If you could visit any place in time or space, where would you go?
    – Even though I actually was alive during this time, I’d really want to know what it’d be like to experience the 90’s as a teenager. Granted, being a child throughout the entirety of the decade was cool, as I got to enjoy the majority of things that made the decade so great, but what about some of the major world events? The Clinton/Lewinsky scandal, OJ Simpson’s low speed chase, the rise and fall of Nirvana? Good times.
  2. What was the last movie you watched? Was it good? Better or worse than expected?
    – I think the last movie I watched was Clueless? I don’t often take the time to go see movies or watch them on Netflix, but I watch Clueless on a fairly regular basis. It’s absolutely iconic.
  3. Which book are you absolutely dying to read?
    – Redefining Realness by Janet Mock. It’s an almost necessary read for transgender people and their allies, especially considering how our society doesn’t often give trans individuals the space to tell their own stories. Also, let’s be real, Janet Mock is a total badass queen.
  4. What is your favourite book genre? Why?
    – Either non-fiction/memoir or dystopian YA. There is no middle ground, only these two polarizing genres. I don’t know what draws me to them other than the desire to leap into a world that is not my own, either through imagining my world through the experiences of a famous individual, or the experiences of someone facing — and then taking down — an oppressive government.
  5. Libraries, book stores, or on-line book shopping?
    – All of the above? I’m constantly broke because of adulthood, so I absolutely love libraries, but there’s nothing better than coming home with a new book in your bag or mail box that you don’t have to worry about returning in three (or more because of renewals) weeks.
  6. Which is your most idolized book character (if any)?
    – HERMIONE GRANGER because she has proven that she is truly grace under pressure. If it weren’t for her dedication to making the world a more equal place for all of mankind — wizard or not — then who knows how the Second Wizarding War would have turned out? Even though she was wanted for being Muggleborn when it was essentially made illegal during the end of Voldemort’s reign, Hermione stayed focused toward her goal of making sure those she loved were ensured a brighter future.
  7. What is your dream job?
    – This may have lay dormant for years upon years, but about three years ago, I realized that I didn’t want to be a journalist like I had originally planned: I wanted to be a book editor. I’d taken news editing and creative writing/editing classes in college for my major and electives and found myself more drawn to those particular courses than the reporting and design courses I had to take. If all else fails, I’d love to be a librarian. Pretty much anything with books.
  8. What is your favourite book as of this moment? What is your favourite book of all time?
    – My favorite book at this present time is probably still You Deserve a Drink by Mamrie Hart. God damn it if she wasn’t absolutely hysterical throughout the course of her book. I also really enjoyed her inclusion of cocktails relevant to each individual chapter. However, asking me to choose one singular book as My Favorite Book of All Time truly isn’t fair, so I’m bending the rules a bit and just saying the whole Harry Potter series. I don’t think I need to go into detail as to why they’re my favorite.
  9. What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What’s your favourite thing about it so far?
    – I’m actually reading three books right now, but I’ve read a good chunk of Mount of Hope: A Victorian Tale of Young Love today, so I’m gonna go with that one for the purposes of this question. I’m actually really enjoying it, much to my delight! I like how it takes the traditional tropes of Victorian romance novels and turning them on their heads. The women aren’t entirely without agency, much like those in the few Victorian novels I’ve had the misfortune of reading in the past. It’s really making me reconsider the genre.
  10. Do you have a secret talent? What is it?
    – I didn’t realize it was a secret talent until recently, but I’m actually an accomplished soprano? I sang in choir all throughout grade school, participated in All District/All State choirs, had solos, was in musicals, but apparently very few people in my life actually know that I can sing. Maybe it’s because I haven’t made it as much of a big deal in my life now as it once was. However, once you get a few drinks in me and take me to karaoke, watch out for my rendition of Touch-a Touch-a Touch Me from Rocky Horror! There was a short period of time in which I actually wanted to go into vocal performance and had actually declared it as a double major when I first enrolled in college, but then I came to my senses about it being impractical, so I dropped it.
  11. Tell a funny story from your week so far.
    – OH so earlier last week, actual fascist and current governor of Wisconsin Scott Walker announced that, if he were to become president, he was going to eliminate all unions and essentially make Right To Work a federal law. As we all know, that’s some bullshit because a: why you gotta be so rude, Walker and b: what did workers ever do to you? My boyfriend currently works at a labor-oriented non-profit, so when the news broke, we were both venting back and forth to each other about the announcement. It eventually got to the point where I was like, “UGH OK I JUST FEEL LIKE WALKER’S GONNA BE THE NEXT ONE TO DROP OUT OF THE REPUBLICAN RACE AFTER HE ANNOUNCES THIS.” And guess who announced they were withdrawing their candidacy from the race today, September 21st? Scott Walker. So basically what this boils down to is this: I have latent political psychic powers and Scott Walker is a piece of shit but at least he ain’t gonna be president.

Questions to You:

  1. Have you listened to Ryan Adams’ cover album of 1989? If you haven’t, hop on Spotify right now and listen to it. If you have, OH MY GOD ISN’T IT SO GOOD?
  2. Out of all of the thousands of memes on this planet, which ones are your favorite?
  3. Think back to the books you read last year. Which one would you never read again and why?
  4. If you could have any superpower, which one would it be?
  5. How do you feel about book trailers?
  6. Which recent releases seemed to be favorites within the bookish community, but you didn’t really feel yourself vibing with?
  7. Which book series that didn’t tickle your fancy would be better if written by a different author? (ie: Twilight by Scott Westerfield?)
  8. What’s your favorite tv show on Netflix/Hulu right now?
  9. Why do you think it’s so difficult to come up with unique and interesting questions so that the people participating in these awards don’t have to answer the same eleven questions over and over again?
  10. Donna Meagle and Tom Haverford from Parks and Recreation believed in one thing and one thing only: “Treat. Yo. Self.” What’s one thing you like to splurge on to treat yo self?
  11. Imagine your favorite tv character thrust in the middle of The Hunger Games. How do you think they’d fare?

Nominees:

As always, if you end up answering my questions, please do not hesitate to let me know! I’d love to read your answers! Thank you once again to Meriem for nominating me; I think we’ll be friends soon enough. (:

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

